Request for Walking Distance Review

The Request for Walking Distance Review form is used when disputing the walking distance in the NPSSTS system. For information about Walking Distance Guidelines, please refer to EL-001.

As the parent/guardian, I understand that:

  • It is my responsibility to ensure the safety of my children to and from school/bus stops;
  • It is my responsibility to have my young children accompanied to and from school/bus stops, as necessary;
  • There is no requirement for school boards to provide transportation, including door-to-door service; and
  • Student transportation is provided according to board-established policies and guidelines, which include guidelines on what is considered a reasonable distance for students to walk to a bus stop or school.
I agree to all of the above:

PLEASE NOTE: Walking distances are measured from where driveways meet the road, following the shortest safe route along public roads and established, maintained walkways. Students whose home or childcare address is within walking distance to school will not be assigned to transportation. Walking distances are as follows:

Grade

Walk Distance to School

Walking Distance to Bus Stop (where reasonable and possible)

JK/SK

0.0 km

0.0 km

Grade 1

1.0 km

0.5 km

Grade 2 and 3

1.0 km

0.5 km

Grade 4 to 6

1.6 km

0.5 km

Grade 7 and 8

1.6 km

1.0 km

Secondary School

3.0 km

1.0 km

In order for the walking distance to be reviewed, please provide the information requested below. NPSSTS staff will review the distance according to board-established guidelines and determine whether or not to implement any changes.

We endeavor to complete reviews within fifteen (15) working days; in late August and September, this timeline is extended to thirty (30) working days. Written notice of the outcome will be provided as quickly as possible following the review and will be sent by mail or e-mail (please indicate preference below).

Name:
Daytime Phone Number:
Alternate Phone Number:
No. of Students:
Preferred Written Notification:
Distance Measured:
Directions followed to determine distance:

Demande d’étude des distances de marche

Le formulaire Demande d'étude des distances de marche est utilisé lorsqu'on conteste les distances de marche dans le système des STSNPS. Pour les renseignements sur les distances de marche, veuillez consulter EL-001.

En tant que parent/tuteur/tutrice, je comprends que :
  • Je suis responsable d’assurer la sécurité de mes enfants à destination et en provenance de l'école/des arrêts d’autobus ;
  • Je suis responsable de veiller à l’accompagnement de mes jeunes enfants à destination et en provenance de l'école/des arrêts d’autobus, le cas échéant ;
  • Les conseils scolaires ne sont pas tenus de fournir le transport, y compris le service de porte-à-porte ; et
  • On fournit le transport scolaire d’après les politiques et directives établies par les conseils, ce qui comprend les directives sur des distances de marche que l’on considère raisonnables pour les élèves.
Je suis d'accord à l'ensemble de ce qui précède:

VEUILLEZ NOTER : On mesure les distances de marche du point où l’entrée pour se rendre au domicile rencontre la route, en suivant la route la plus courte le long des routes publiques et des sentiers établis et entretenus. On n’assignera pas le transport aux élèves dont l’adresse du domicile ou des services de garderie se situe à l’intérieur des distances de marche à l’école. Les distances de marche sont comme suit:

Niveau scolaire

Distance de marche à l’école

Distance de marche à l’arrêt d’autobus (si raisonnable et possible)

Maternelle/Jardin d’enfants

0,0 km

0,0 km

1re année

1,0 km

0,5 km

2e et 3e année

1,0 km

0,5 km

4e à 6e année

1,6 km

0,5 km

7e et 8e années

1,6 km

1,0 km

École secondaire

3,0 km

1,0 km

Pour permettre l’étude des distances de marche, veuillez fournir les renseignements demandés ci-dessous. Le personnel des STSNPS étudiera les distances de marche d’après les directives établies par les conseils et déterminera s’il y a lieu d’établir des changements.

Nous nous efforçons d’effectuer les études dans un délai de quinze (15) jours ouvrables; vers la fin août et en septembre, ce délai se prolonge à trente (30) jours ouvrables. Une fois l’étude effectuée, on fournira un avis écrit du résultat aussitôt que possible par la poste ou courriel (veuillez indiquer votre préférence ci-dessous).

Nom:
Numéro de téléphone de jour:
Autre numéro de téléphone:
Date:
Nombre d'élèves:
Préférence pour l'avis écrit:
Distance mesurée:
Route parcourue pour déterminer les distances: